ATP 250 – Estoril Millennium Estoril Open Tournament. (ground)

  • Category: ATP World Tour 250;
  • Venue: Oeiras, Portugal;
  • Date: 23.04.2022 – 01.05.2022;
  • Surface: Ground;

A professional men’s tennis tournament that has been held in Portugal in the Lisbon suburb of Oeiras since 1990. The tournament is an ATP 250 Open on clay courts.

The Portuguese Open is played concurrently with both men’s and women’s events. All events take place on the open courts, with a prize pool of two hundred and three hundred and five thousand dollars for the women and four hundred and ten thousand dollars for the men. Initially, after its creation, the tournament only hosted men’s events, but eight years later, the situation has changed: it includes women’s competitions as well.

tennis tournament

A record number of times the tournament has been won by American Scott Lipsky, who has won the doubles competition five times (in 2009, 2013-16). Champions Donald Jackson of America and Andrey Olkhovsky of Russia also managed to conquer the tournament a large number of times. These tennis players managed to beat their opponents as many as three times in the doubles competition. In singles competition Thomas Munster, Carlos Costa and Juan Martin del Potro won twice. In the women’s event, the two-time champion was Magy Serna, Katarina Serbotnik and Maria Kirilenko.

The tournament is named the Estoril Open after the centre court of the local tennis stadium. Throughout its history, it has belonged to the basic category of ATP tournaments and since 2009 it has been the ATP 250.

The Portuguese tournament attracts some of the country’s best Top Ranked players to Estoril’s clay courts.

The 2022 Estoril Open

The Millennium Estoril Open is the only Portuguese tournament in the world tennis circuit and attracts thousands of spectators to Estoril.

The 2022 Estoril Open will have a very strong field, led by Felix Auger-Aliasim and last year’s finalist Cameron Norrie.

The 2022 tournament will be the 6th in a row and will feature a pretty decent line-up of competitors. The top seed is Felix Auger-Aliassim, who tops the ATP 250 entry list. The tournament will run from April 23 to May 1 and will feature both of last year’s finalists, Cameron Norrie, as well as champion Albert Ramos.

In addition to these two players, many other greats such as Diego Schwartzman, Pablo Carreno Busta, Marin Cilic, Francis Tiafoe and many more will compete on the red clay of Portugal.